Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Election results

2017 Tees Valley Mayoral election

Ben Houchen (Conservative) was elected as Tees Valley Mayor (for Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, and Stockton-on-Tees) on 4 May 2017.

Candidate Party First preference votes Second preference votes Total
Foote-Wood, Chris Liberal Democrat 12,550 n/a 12,550
Houchen, Ben Conservative Party 40,278 8,300 48,578 (elected)
Jeffrey, Susan Jennifer (commonly known as Sue Jeffrey) Labour Party 39,797 6,603 46,400
Tennant, John David Edward UK Independence Party (UKIP) 9,475 n/a 9,475

Electorate: 94,544 voters
Ballot papers issued: 18,091
Turnout: 19.14% of voters

View the certificate of verification for all votes in all towns (PDF).