Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Middlesbrough Council, Middlesbrough Town Hall, and Middlesbrough's Mayor

Chair of the Council

In 2002, the traditional role of the Worshipful Mayor changed when the people of Middlesbrough were given the opportunity to elect a Mayor. Because protocol won't allow two Mayors in one town, the traditional civic ceremonial Mayor with chains and robes was renamed the 'Chair of Middlesbrough Council'.

For the year 2022 to 2023 the Chair of the Council is Councillor John Hobson.

The elected Mayor is Andy Preston, who, with his Executive, has executive control over the policies and services of Middlesbrough Council.

The role of the Chair of the Council

The Chair's role is to:

  • act as the figurehead of the council
  • work for the general wellbeing of the community, and in particular in relation to charitable fundraising activities
  • develop links between the council and community groups, schools, the voluntary and charitable sector, etc.
  • lead the community in civic duties such as Remembrance Sunday
  • develop overseas links, especially in relation to 'Town Twinning' activities
  • act as the representative of the community in relation to royal and other ceremonial visits and functions
  • preside over full council meetings

How is the Chair elected?

The council's Elected Members (councillors), at their Annual Meeting, elect the Chair of the Council. The position is held for one year.

Who are the current Chair and Vice-Chair?

The current Chair of Middlesbrough Council is Councillor John Hobson, the ward councillor for Marton West Ward.
Photo of Chair of the Council, Councillor John Hobson

The Vice-Chair of Middlesbrough Council is Councillor Allan Bell, the ward councillor for Hemlington.
Photo of Vice-Chair of the Council, Allan Bell

How to get in touch with the Chair of Middlesbrough Council

If you'd like to get in touch with the Chair of Middlesbrough Council to invite him to an event, please contact him in one of the following ways:

Write to:

The Chair of Middlesbrough Council
The Chair's Office
Town Hall