Freedom of the Borough of MIDDLESBROUGH



Mr Stephen Gibson

Local Government Act 1972

Admission to the

Honorary Freedom of the Borough

MR STEPHEN GIBSON

at 7.00pm

Thursday, 18 March, 2004

MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIR

On Thursday 18 March, 2004, Middlesbrough Borough Council will be asked to confer the Freedom of the Borough upon Mr Stephen Gibson.

Mr Gibson is recognised for his contribution to the economic and social wellbeing of the community and his commitment to developing the sporting and leisure activities of the town. We especially acknowledge his work for the benefit of young people.

It gives me great pleasure on behalf of the town to wish Mr Stephen Gibson congratulations on this very special occasion and best wishes for the future.

THE CHAIR OF MIDDLESBROUGH COUNCIL Councillor Peter Porley

Freedom of the Borough of MIDDLESBROUGH

Order of Proceedings on the Admission of

Mr Stephen Gibson

to the Honorary Freedom of the Borough on Thursday 18 March 2004 at 7.00 pm.

- The Members of the Council and the Guests will be seated in the Town Hall, Middlesbrough prior to 7.00pm.
- The Chair of Middlesbrough Council (Councillor Peter Porley) preceded by the Mace will take his seat.
- The Chair will call upon the Chief Executive to read the Resolution.
- 4. The Chair will call upon the Mayor to address the council.
- The Chair will call upon Councillor D Budd to propose and Councillor J McPartland to second a Resolution to admit Mr Stephen Gibson to the Honorary Freedom of the Borough.
- After the Resolution has been proposed and seconded the Chair will call upon other Members of the Council to speak to the Resolution.

7. The Chair will put the Resolution to the Meeting, and after the same has been declared carried, the Chief Executive will read the Oath of Freedom as follows:

"Will you, Stephen Gibson, swear to be true to our Sovereign Lady Queen Elizabeth II, Her Heirs and Successors, as a free and franchised person of this Borough?

Will you preserve the peace and tranquillity of the said Borough, and will you disclose to the Chair for the time being, details of any unlawful meetings or assemblies which come to your attention?

Will you do all in your power to contribute to the good government and safety of the said Borough and the inhabitants thereof?

Will you also defend the customs and privileges of the Borough in every just and lawful cause?

So help you God"

8. Stephen Gibson will signify acceptance of the Oath, by replying "I WILL".

The Chair will then invite Mr Stephen Gibson to sign the Roll of Admissions of Freedom and invite the signature to be witnessed by the Chair and the Chief Executive.

- After the signing of the Roll, the Chair will present a sealed and illuminated framed copy of the resolution inscribed on vellum, and will offer congratulations on behalf of the Council and the people of the Borough.
- 10. The Chair's Lady will present a bouquet of flowers to Mrs Gibson.

- 11. Mr Stephen Gibson will reply.
- 12. The Director of Legal and Democratic Services will report receipt of any communications.
- 13. At the conclusion of the formal proceedings, the Chair will leave the Council Chamber accompanied by all those present holding the Freedom of the Borough.
- 14. An Invitation is extended to the Members of the Council and all Guests to then adjourn to the Civic Suite for refreshments.

B Dinsdale OBE, BA, CPFA Chief Executive

Freedom of the Borough of MIDDLESBROUGH

Whereas at an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Middlesbrough convened in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act and held in the Council Chamber in the said Borough on the Eighteenth Day of March, Two Thousand and Four

It was Unanimously Resolved that the Council do confer upon



MR STEPHEN GIBSON

The Honorary Freedom of the Borough in acknowledgement and grateful recognition of the eminent services rendered by him to the economic and social wellbeing of the community; particularly in respect of his commitment to developing the sporting and leisure activities of the town, and especially acknowledging his work for the benefit of the young people.

Given under the Common Seal

Chair

Chief Executive

Members of Middlesbrough Council

The Chair of Middlesbrough Council: Councillor Peter Porley The Vice-Chair of Middlesbrough Council: Councillor Javed Ismail

The Mayor of Middlesbrough: Mr Ray Mallon The Deputy Mayor of Middlesbrough: Councillor Robert K Brady

Councillor S K Biswas Councillor S Bloundele Councillor M T Booth Councillor | Brunton Councillor D Budd Councillor M Carr Councillor G B Clark IP Councillor | G Cole Councillor B Coppinger Councillor D Davison Councillor E Dryden Councillor B | Elder Councillor W Ferrier MBE Councillor F Gill Councillor K Hall Councillor | P Harris Councillor | M Heath Councillor B A Hubbard Councillor J A Jones Councillor | Jones Councillor B Kerr Councillor E Lancaster Councillor R Lowes

Councillor T Mawston JP Councillor F McIntyre Councillor J E McPartland Councillor | McTigue Councillor | Michna Councillor K | Morby Councillor Mrs H Pearson OBE Councillor R Regan Councillor C E Robson Councillor G W Rogers Councillor C M Rooney Councillor P Sanderson **Councillor B E Taylor** Councillor Mrs | Taylor Councillor Mrs B Thompson Councillor P Thompson Councillor K Walker Councillor N I Walker Councillor A E Ward Councillor T Ward Councillor M B Williams Councillor Linda Wilson

