Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Compliments and Comments Icon

Index of Multiple Deprivation 2015

Middlesbrough is getting more support to tackle the spike in coronavirus cases. Find out more about the extra support.

The Index of Multiple Deprivation (IMD) identifies areas of deprivation in each local authority area, and also for smaller areas within each local authority area known as Lower Layer Super Output Areas (LSOAs). These are similar to Middlesbrough's electoral wards.

The 2015 IMD was published by the Department of Communities and Local Government.

The IMD is a relative measure of deprivation and is based on a variety of indicators which have been combined into the categories listed below. The index is designed to give greater weight to certain categories which are considered to be a more significant factor in the experience of deprivation:

  • Income Deprivation domain (weighting 22.5%); 
  • Employment Deprivation domain (22.5%);
  • Health Deprivation and Disability domain (13.5%);
  • Education, Skills and Training Deprivation domain (13.5%);
  • Barriers to Housing and Services domain (9.3%);
  • Crime domain (9.3%);
  • Living Environment Deprivation domain (9.3%).

Each of the 32,844 LSOAs in England are assigned a score based on deprivation levels and also a rank based on each of the scores. Rankings for the 326 English districts and boroughs are also calculated. Middlesbrough has a rank of average score of 6 (increased from 8 in 2010) meaning it is the 6th most deprived local authority area in England.

Estimated ward ranks

Whilst the IMD produces results for LSOAs, it is possible to estimate national ward ranks based on the LSOA scores. The table below shows the IMD overall rankings for Middlesbrough wards for 2015 and 2010 and also highlights rank change, with ranks being out of 7,522 (number of wards in England), where rank 1 is most deprived.

Of the twenty Middlesbrough wards, six have improved their ranking and fourteen have got worse.

  • Six wards (30%) are in the most deprived 1% in England
  • Seven (35%) in the most deprived 3%
  • Ten wards (50%) are in the most deprived 10%

At ward-level the biggest improvers amongst the most deprived areas are Central (from 23 in 2010 to 30 in 2015) and Ayresome (from 581 in 2010 to 681 in 2015).

All six Middlesbrough wards in the top 1% most deprived wards nationally have increased their ranking (become more deprived), the most significant being North Ormesby which is now ranked the second most deprived ward nationally.

You can compare IMD for each of the domains (income, employment, health and disability, education and skills, barriers to housing, crime and living environment) in each of the wards in Middlesbrough. Download the Middlesbrough wards by IMD national rank 2015 document.

Join the millions already vaccinated