We're releasing dates for the collection of old green bins one week at a time. View this week and next week's dates

Home chevron_right Schools and education chevron_right School term dates

School term dates

These term dates are only for maintained schools (a school run by the council). Term dates and holiday dates may be different for academies, voluntary aided schools, or Foundation Special schools. This is because the school's governing body or trust board are responsible for setting the school's term dates.

Please contact your school or check their website to be certain of your school's term dates as they may be different from these.

School term dates 2023/2024

Download a PDF of school term dates for 2023/2024

  • Term five: Monday 8 April 2024 to Friday 24 May 2024
  • May half term: Monday 27 May 2024 to Friday 31 May 2024
  • Term six: Monday 3 June 2024 to Monday 22 July 2024

You can see a full list of Bank Holidays on the government website.

School term dates 2024/2025

Download a PDF of school term dates for 2024/2025

  • Term one: Monday 2 September 2024 to Friday 25 October 2024
  • October half term: Monday 28 October 2024 to Friday 1 November 2024
  • Term two: Monday 4 November 2024 to Friday 20 December 2024
  • Christmas holiday: Monday 23 December 2024 to Friday 3 January 2025
  • Term three: Monday 6 January 2025 to Friday 21 February 2025
  • February half term: Monday 24 February 2025 to Friday 28 February 2025
  • Term four: Monday 3 March 2025 to Friday 11 April 2025
  • Easter holiday: Monday 14 April 2025 to Friday 25 April 2025
  • Term five: Monday 28 April 2025 to Friday 23 May 2025
  • May half term: Monday 26 May 2025 to Friday 30 May 2025
  • Term six: Monday 2 June 2025 to Monday 21 July 2025

You can see a full list of Bank Holidays on the government website.

Professional development (PD) days

Up to five days per school year will be used as professional development days (PD days) for staff. On those days, pupils will not attend school.

Each school is responsible for deciding when their PD days will be. The school will then let parents know these dates. We don't publish dates of PD days for schools.